Health & Diet

Gluten-Free Diet Guide

Have some fruitPhoto by quinn.anya

A gluten-free diet is a diet which excludes gluten, the protein which can be found in grains, such as rye, wheat, barley, and a cross between rye and wheat called triticale. This diet is usually used to treat celiac disease.

People who have celiac disease have inflammation in the small intestines, which is caused by gluten. A gluten-free diet helps people who have celiac disease to prevent complications and control symptoms.

This diet is a treatment for celiac disease. However, some people who don’t have this disease also have the symptoms when they eat a product which contains gluten. This condition is called non-celiac gluten sensitivity. People with this condition can benefit from a gluten-free diet. However, people who have celiac disease must be gluten-free to prevent disease-related complications and symptoms.

Details Of diet

A gluten-free diet is a huge change and it takes some time getting used to. Initially, you may feel deprived by the restrictions of the diet. However, it may be helpful if you focus only on foods which you can eat. Also, you will be pleasantly surprised to realize how much products are available, and all of them are gluten-free.

There are many grocery stores which sell only gluten-free foods. In case you have some question, it is a good idea to talk with a dietitian who can offer advice and
answer your questions about how to avoid gluten and still eat a balanced, healthy diet.


Allowed foods which are delicious, healthy and naturally gluten free:

– Most dairy products
– Fruits and vegetables
– Fresh eggs
– Nuts, seeds and beans in their natural, unprocessed form
– poultry, fish and fresh meats (bot breaded, marinated or batter-coated)

Make sure that these products aren’t mixed or processed with preservatives or additives. A lot of starches and grains can be part of a gluten-free diet, like:

– Arrowroot
– Flax
– Millet
– Rice
– Soy
– Teff
– Quinoa
– Buckwheat
– Amaranth
– Corn and cornmeal
– Sorghum
– Tapioca
– Hominy (corn)
– Gluten-free flours (bean, potato, corn, soy, rice)
– Avoid all drinks and food containing:
– Wheat
– Rye
– Triticale
– Barley

Avoid the following products unless they are labeled as “gluten-free”

– Breads
– Candies
– Cookies and crackers
– French fries
– Imitation meat or seafood
– Pastas
– Beer
– Cakes and pies
– Cereals
– Communion wafers
– Croutons
– Gravies
– Matzo
– Salad dressings
– Seasoned rice mixes
– Self-basting poultry
– Vegetables in sauce
– Processed luncheon meats
– Sauces, including soy sauce
– Soups and soup bases
– Seasoned snack foods, such as tortilla chips and potato

Some grains, such as oats, may be contaminated with wheat during processing stage of production. Therefore, you should avoid oats unless there is a gluten-free label on the product. There are also other products which can be contaminated and these include vitamins and medications that use gluten as a binding agent or food additives.


Not getting enough vitamins – If you are following a gluten-free diet, there is a chance that you have low levels of certain nutrients and vitamins, such as calcium, fiber, thiamin, niacin, folate, riboflavin, and iron.

Not sticking to the gluten-free diet – You may experience diarrhea and abdominal pain if you accidentally eat a product which contains gluten. Even though some people have no symptoms after eating gluten, this doesn’t mean that it’s not damaging their small intestines.

Even the small dose can cause a damage, without any symptoms. If you have celiac disease and you don’t follow a gluten-free diet, you can have a serious complications such as small intestinal cancer.


People who follow this diet and who have celiac disease have less complications and symptoms of the disease. Those people must eat a strict gluten-free diet. However, sometimes a gluten-free diet is not enough to stop the complications and symptoms of celiac disease. In such cases an additional treatment is needed.

READ  5 Typical Symptoms Of Schizophrenia


Around the Web